Faculty | Automotive Technology | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Faculty

Mike Behrmann

Department Chair

Mike Behrmann

Phone: 618.453.9125
Email: mbehr@siu.edu

  • Automotive Business and Management
  • Automotive Retail/Wholesale
  • Automotive Warranty/Goodwill Operations
  • Automotive Financial Operations
  • Environmental, Safety, and Legal Factors


Andrew Croxell

Assistant Professor

Andrew Croxell

Phone: 618.453.9122
Email: dcroxell@siu.edu

  • Diesel Technology 
  • Manual Drivetrains 
  • Automotive Business and Management
  • Automotive Warranty/Goodwill Operations
  • Automotive Financial Operations


Sean Boyle

Associate Professor

Sean Boyle

Phone: 618.453.9139
Email: jeepster@siu.edu

  • Automatic Transmission
  • Drivetrains
  • Comprehensive Diagnostics


Rod Collard

Associate Professor

Rod Collard

Phone: 618.453.9136
Email: rcollard@siu.edu

  • Brakes, Steering, and Suspensions
  • Stability Controls and NVH
  • Alternative Fuels
  • Welding and Fabrication


David Gilbert

Associate Professor

David Gilbert

Phone: 618.453.9137
Email: dwgilb@siu.edu

  • Electronic Engine Controls
  • Engine Performance, Drivability, & Emissions
  • Electrical Diagnostics


Blaine Heisner

Assistant Professor

Blaine Heisner

Phone: 618.453.9138
Email: bheisner@siu.edu

  • Internal Combustion Engine Principles
  • Engine Performance
  • Alternative Fueled Vehicles
  • Biodiesel


Tim Janello

Associate Professor

Tim Janello

Phone: 618.453.9131
Email: tjanello@siu.edu

  • Diesel
  • Drivability and Emissions
  • Dynamometer Fuels Testing
  • Stability Controls and Noise, & Vibration
  • Hybrid Operation/Controls


Benjamin Komnick

Assistant Professor

Benjamin Komnick

Phone: 618.453.9130
Email: bkomnick@siu.edu

  • Body Electronics
  • Network Systems
  • Electrical Diagnostics
  • Automotive Technology Organization Co-Advisor


Eugene Talley

Associate Professor

Eugene Talley

Phone: 618.453.9132
Email: etalley@siu.edu

  • Heating and Air Conditioning Systems
  • Manual Transmissions and Drivetrains
  • Engine Management
  • Drivability and Emissions Diagnosis
  • Brakes, Steering and Suspension 
  • Automotive Technology Organization Co-Advisor


Kent Meckfessel

Assistant Instructor

Kent Meckfessel

Phone: 618.453.9139
Email: kmeckfessel@siu.edu

  • Braking systems
  • Steering, suspension and alignment
  • Engine Mechanical
  • Electronic Principles 


Ken Pickerill

Assistant Instructor

Ken Pickerill

Phone: 618.453.9133
Email: kdpickerill@siu.edu

  • Engine Performance and Drivability
  • Electronic Engine Controls
  • Drivability and Emissions Diagnosis
  • Vehicle Stability and NVH


Jessica Suda

Assistant Instructor

Jessica Suda

Phone: 618-453-9140
Email: jls1988@siu.edu
Office: TEC 160D

  • Automotive Data Systems
  • Hybrid Electric Vehicle Technology
  • Electrical Principles
  • Electrical Diagnostics​ 


Ralph Tate

Associate Professor

Ralph Tate

Phone: 618.453.9135
Email: rtate@siu.edu

  • Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Technologies
  • Computing for Automotive Applications
  • Wireless and Fiber Optic Data Communications
  • Information Technology Specialist


Todd Grant

Assistant Instructor

Todd Grant

Phone: 618.453.4024
Email: todd.grant@siu.edu

  • Automotive Heating and Air Conditioning
  • Automotive Engines


Robert Lorimer

Assistant Instructor

Phone: 618.453.9129
Email: robert.lorimer@siu.edu

  • Automotive Engines
  • Automotive Electrical Systems